

The 2nd IEM EETD Final Year Engineering Poster Competition

by Dr Siow Chun Lim

Dr Siow Chun Lim is currently a committee member in Electrical Engineering Technical Division.

The IEM Electrical Engineering Technical Division (EETD) has successfully organised the 2nd IEM EETD Final Year Engineering Project (EEFYP) Competition on 25th August 2017 at Wisma IEM. There were 20 final year electrical engineering students from 10 universities who have participated. Each participant was given 5 minutes to present followed by 5 minutes for the judges to ask questions. Table 1 shows the list of projects presented this round.

Table 1: Summary of the project titles

Project	Project Title	
1	Development of Low Cost Low Power Aquaculture Sensor	
2	Development of Low-Powered IoT Home Appliances Energy Monitoring System with Energy	
	Scavenging Capability	
3	Gyro-VAWT: A New Vertical Wind Energy Configuration	
	for Low Velocity Regime	
4	Design, Fabricate and Characterization of Portable Fibre Acoustic	
	Sensor for Water Pipeline Monitoring Purposes	
5	Comb AC-Computing Based Air-Conditioner	
6	Multi-Hop Wireless Sensor Network for Remote Monitoring of Soil Moisture	
7	Develop of an Indoor Positioning System for Indoor Positioning System for Home Energy	
	Budgeting	
8	Development of a Portable Type I to III Surge Protective Device for Compact Structure	
9	Speed Control of Permanent Magnet Brushless DC Motor	
10	Development of Human Head Phantom for Brain Stroke and Brain Tumour Detection	
11	IoT Based Smart Energy Management System	
12	A Bearing Fault Classification System	
13	Analysis Between Perturb & Observe (P & O) Controller And Fuzzy Logic Controller (FLC) For A	
	Photovoltaic System With Cuk And SEPIC Converter	
14	Self-Powered Electronic Skin	
15	Movement Prediction for Vehicle Collision Avoidance during Cycling	
16	Development of an Energy Autonomous Pedometer Based on Piezoelectric Energy Harvesting	
17	Early Landslide Warning System	
18	Analog Input Output Path Circuits for Four Transistor Pixel in Standard 0.13µm CMOS	
	Technology	
19	Influence Of Al ₂ O ₃ Nanofiller On Water Treeing In XLPE Insulation	
20	Laser Controller System for Levelling Application	

Upon completion of the presentation and judging session, the students were engaged with a dialogue session with the panel of judges who are from various electrical engineering field. The dialogue session was moderated by the Organising Chair of the competition, Dr. Siow Chun Lim. While the dialogue session was ongoing, the results were computed. Coincidentally, just like the first edition of this competition, a tiebreaker was needed to decide the runners up.

Table 2 summarises the winners of the competition:-

Table 2: The Winners

Participant	University	Prize
Zech Chan Sze Zher	Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman	Champion
Gorakanage Ashen Indimal Gomes	Universiti Putra Malaysia	First runner-up
Darrshni A/P Tanabbal		Second runner-up
Wong Jian Chung	Tunku Abdul Rahman University College	Consolation
Siti Zubaidah Zakaria	Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS	Consolation
Teow Wei Wei	Taylor's University	Consolation
Teh Choon Keong	Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS	Consolation
Lum Yan Wei	Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman	Consolation



Group photo of all participants



The judges: Dr. Tan Chia Kwang, Ir. Ng Win Siau, Ir. Chris Chew Shee Fuee and Ms. Jesse Yong Lichun



One of the presentations and judging sessions



Ir. Chong Chew Fan (EETD Chairman) presenting the prize to the champion



Tiebreaker



Ms. Jeannie presenting the prize to the winner which is sponsored by Dexon Electrical Engineering Sdn Bhd